Disabling Leopard’s ridiculous “Are you sure you want to open it?” dialogues

Turns out it's easy. Just create a text file called com.apple.DownloadAssessment.plist under Library/Preferences in your home directory, with the following content:

<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN"
   "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
  <dict>
    <key>LSRiskCategoryNeutral</key>
    <dict>
      <key>LSRiskCategoryContentTypes</key>
      <array>
        <string>public.item</string>
      </array>
    </dict>
  </dict>
</plist>

Then log out and back in. Done.

For details of how this works, see the following:

Update: The instructions for Snow Leopard are slightly different.

Tags: apple
Tue, 06 May 2008 23:03 UTC

« Next    Previous »